Changing your hat

If you had a chronic disorder/disease, how would you feel if your hat was suddenly changed in a matter of days? Do you believe this to be possible?

When I was two years old,  my sister jumped on the back of my tricycle and I flipped off, hitting my head on the pavement. My mother rushed me to the ER to make sure I didn’t have a concussion. The doctor told my mother I was a tough cookie and was just fine. Not too long after that, our lives changed.

I was jumping on the bed when suddenly my entire body fell and starting seizing and I was rushed to the ER once more. The doctors had no idea what was wrong and released me. It wasn’t until I was six years old before I was finally diagnosed with a seizure disorder. The doctors told us, I would NEVER outgrow them.

Since then, I have been taking medications for it (literally tried every one of them in the medicine cabinet) and nothing worked. I have been hospitalized numerous times, both because of seizures and the side effects to medications.

Last week I spent a week in the Epilepsy Monitor Unit and under the care of an epileptologist. After a week of nothing showing up on the EEG and blood tests, he declared me Epilepsy free and no longer have to take medications.

Yesterday, I took my medical bracelet off for the first time in years. While I do need to replace it to list my allergies, it was the first step to freedom of knowing I don’t have Epilepsy anymore.

The doctors say there is a possibility of still having seizures, but it seems it doesn’t happen often enough to call it Epilepsy.

Only God would make such a thing possible and honestly, the idea of changing my hat and completely and identifying myself in Christ is the only thing that makes Him worth all the while. God is amazing, and only He is ABLE.

I want to thank everyone for their prayers, their kindness and friendship and believing nothing is impossible with God. (Luke 1:37)

Leave a Reply

