Fig Tree

In the morning, as Jesus was returning to Jerusalem, he was hungry, and he noticed a fig tree beside the road. He went over to see if there were any figs, but there were only leaves. Then he said to it,“May you never bear fruit again!” And immediately the fig tree withered up.

The disciples were amazed when they saw this and asked, “How did the fig tree wither so quickly?”
Then Jesus told them, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more. You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen.You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”
Matthew 21:19-22
Faith has become a big subject for me to tackle as of recently. Not that I’m losing faith, but my willingness to grow. If I am not willing to trust God and have faith in him, my spirit will remain the same and will not bear fruit. The roots of the fig tree will die along with it. In other words, I would have no life with Jesus if I made the choice to not follow him.
The reason for reading this was because of my doubts about my seizure disorder. Having had Epilepsy for more than 20 years made me believe I still have seizures. I will continue to believe I do for my own safety but I don’t have to believe it still happens all the time. Instead, I can change my mind by allowing myself to have faith in Jesus, getting rid of all the ‘what if?” Those questions prevent me from growing and giving fruit for the Lord.
Instead, I can pray and ask God to not only take away the disorder but also believe it’s not from him but from satan. I would rather ask for him to nourish the roots and grow fruit so it can be provided for others to become fruitful as well.
It’s similar to when Peter was asked by Jesus to walk on water. Jesus asks us to trust him. He can not only take away the disorder, but he can do more! That’s an effective ministry!
One thought on “Fig Tree

Leave a Reply

