Honoring our creation

ImageA few months ago, I was chatting with someone and had mentioned my medication often changed my eating habits. Some days I could eat and others, I couldn’t. It was a major struggle without being judged or condemed by people who were simply attemtping to encourage me to eat. He looked at me and told me, “You’re not eating? Well, then you’re not honoring God.”

I went home later that day with what he said. For once, someone wasn’t giving me a lecture but sharing words of wisdom of how it affects my relationship with God. And truth be told, he was right. I wasn’t honoring God. So, that night, I prayed about how I could get better. How I can be healed, in order to take better care of myself. While I’ve read this scripture many times in the past, I never fully applied it up until this year.

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body,”
– (1 Cor. 6:19-20).

Let’s start with the first part. “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?”
Talk about being blunt! Our body is a temple (host) of the Holy Spirit. It’s also sacred to God as Jesus lives in us.

We are not our own, once we accept Christ (who died on the cross and rose from the dead with the intention of our souls living forever). Our host allows us to interact with other believers and non-believers.

“Therefore, honor God with your body.” Because we are intended to have a purpose for our lives, we should honor our body.

My choice of skipping meals to remaining healthy, made me lose sight of what God intended for me. I barely had energy to even keep my attention span going much less serving Him. Therefore, I was unable to honor God.

Since then, I went back to the doctors and had testing done – only to find out the medication I was taking was no longer needed and was possibly triggering my condition. A few weeks after going off of the medication, I began to eat more. I gained a good amount of healthy weight. I felt better than I ever have, including more energy, less headaches and less seizures.

Taking care of your body is very essential to honoring God. The last post discussed the importance of remembering how God created us and perfectly made. He already designed us exactly how He wanted us. Why should we dishonor our Lord by not caring for His design?

I want to note: this post lead me to understand that being healthy is not for my benefit (though is useful) but for God’s benefit in serving His Kingdom. For the first time, I believe I am beautiful, because my attitude of how I see God’s design – began to change.

Even though we’re human, we don’t have to be destructive to God’s design. How can we work to better care for the ‘temple’?

Leave a Reply

