dotting the ‘i’

Lately, I have noticed a pet peeve. Perhaps it’s the objective journalist in me but people who use ‘I’ or ‘me’ with no relevance to the conversation in a group, I quickly lose attention. And more so as a leader who works with other leaders.

The words ‘we, they and/or ours” indicates including the entire group instead of individual. After arriving home and feeling compelled to research “I” when Jesus spoke. Who was Jesus often referring to?

So Jesus explained, “I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself. He does only what he sees the Father doing. Whatever the Father does, the Son also does. Image

So, what does ‘I’ mean? Jesus recognizes, that even though he refers to himself, he refers himself to God because he knows he cannot do anything without his Father. This seems fair when he talks about his work, he knows he is the Son of God and nothing is done alone.

‘We’ is not just referring to a group, but also refers to the church. Church is not about ‘I.’ Often times, you’re referring to the people who have a relationship with God. Focusing too much on the ‘i’ will have unbelievers lose sight of who God is.

The best way to start, ‘Jesus’ instead of ‘I’.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

