Here we are God

At some point in my life, I attended a deaf institution for four years. I decided to leave because I wasn’t being challenged academically. I was literally failing school. I was already having to wake up before 5 A.M. just to get ready for school in the mornings and was not able to go to bed until midnight because I was always doing homework. Eventually, I transferred to a public school. Where standardized testing was beginning to be engraved into our minds, instead of actually critically thinking for ourselves.

The generations of my family values have been handed down about morality but nothing attributing to those beliefs. I didn’t grow up in a church but had religious exposure to Judaism, Hinduism, Catholicism, and so forth.

The question that came up this week in Discipleship Training School (DTS): What is my worldview and where does it come from?

When I look at a picture of Hitler, I have many questions about who he is. What he did and how it affected my emotions about him. To be honest, while they are not necessarily peaceful, it’s still questionable. The speaker we had this week pointed out that HItler never actually killed anyone, but his ideology did. So, is he really a murderer? He definitely didn’t stop what what happening.

This wasn’t the only world problem we discussed in class, we also discussed where Communism originated from and the consequences. The consequences? Continuous Mass killings (currently: North Korea).

All because it started with one idea.

Or how about in today’s public schools? Do you know why they keep our minds simplified and focused on testing rather than using critical thinking? It’s originated from a Marxist viewpoint. No wonder I could never invest my energy in history class, because it’s all stuck on one view point (what happened, but not origination and consequences).

It’s definitely challenged me as an investigative journalist to do my research. I already know the basic idea of checking out all the who, what, where, when, why and how. My job is not to just Investigate what’s happening right at this moment, but how it originated or what the consequences are. Unfortunately, in today’s society, we’re thrown back with only the headline and a quick five-second summary. No one wants a detailed story to make a decision.

I was in the prayer room this afternoon, 1 Corinthians 15:11-19 came to mind. The passage was talking about how David commanded the Levites that they must purify themselves and take responsibility for the Ark because they did not previously as Moses had commanded them by God.

It hit me how much of an influence that our previous generation has, when they don’t participate or avoid participating because they believe it doesn’t apply to them directly. But they also don’t realize how everything directly affects the next generation.

Our last few generations kept everything hush-hushed about what was really happening and when asked, they simply disagree with the issue for whatever reason. But never really explain it. Therefore, it affects how we react. We become apathetic or passive. We don’t vote, and we don’t go to church. Our ideas has serious consequences on the next generation.

As David did, I’m challenging the previous generation behind me to share their wisdom with us. I’m challenging our current generation and the next generations to rise up and fight for His Kingdom by revival.

God made a covenant of living on for thousands of generations. So, here we are God. Shake our nation.

Leave a Reply

