Rewriting my heart

What’s your dream story?

This is a question posing my mind this week from a distant memory a professor once asked. 

If I had unlimited access to funding and research, or the ability to go anywhere in the world and interview anyone, what would I write about? The truth; I don’t mean unbiased, yellow journalism kind of truth, I mean the truth God put on our hearts in this world and did everything He could to simply love HIs people. And still the One who receives all of the glory.

When I was young, I remember I wanted to write books. Open up my own art studio so I could do showcases of abstract photographers all of the world. Meanwhile, hiding in the back writing stories. I really wanted to shine light on humanitarian issues happening all over the world and create stories to help young people through their daily sufferings. Writing stories breaking God’s heart. 

I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit— that I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart.
                                                                                                                                                 Romans 9:1-2

I am being challenging to not only to be reminded of why I decided to go into writing but how. We now live in a culture trending the kind of journalism where opinion matters more than facts. Where we are living in a Marxist worldview, which is limited to one one person’s point of view. What does this say for many of of our current writers struggling to make ends meet when they desire to write news and not just headlines?

Real stories are where the truth lies. It’s not about hearing about a shooting in a nearby neighborhood, it’s about the person who was rescued and how they survived. THe bystanders and rescuers are the ones who contributed to their stories are the ones who contribute truth. 
Real stories are about single mothers who struggle with finding time to be with their children, both low and high income mothers. 
Real stories are about neglected children in schools because the government demands all children follow the same curriculum and not allowing their creative minds flow to their fullest potential.
Real stories are about the community centers, where counseling is provided for women who discovered they are pregnant and don’t know their options. 
Real stories are about the lawyers who fight for the rights for people who needs resolution and forgiveness in their lives. 

These are the stories always leading back to the same thing. For the glory of God who saves, rescues, redeems and adopts. 

Leave a Reply

