What saying “no” means

This season has been really challenging me and I honestly don’t even know what to call this season of my life. I had to go see a doctor this week and was told I had a sectia injury resulting from a hard fall I took a couple of weeks ago while hiking the Billy Goat trail. 

With some R & R and a little bit of light stretching, I should be back up in no time. Our team had planned to go backpacking this weekend for a couple of days in the Appalachian Mountains, starting in Hapers Ferry in WV. The doctor said if it still hurts, don’t go. But if you feel confident and it doesn’t hurt, go for it. 

I woke up this morning, walked around for a bit and decided on a firm but sad, no. The Arizonian in me is itching to get out and go hiking for a day or two, but my body is yelling, “I will really despise you and make you miserable if you go!” I thought and prayed through it and realized as much as it sucks, it will be worth staying behind. 

Our B.E. tour is about three weeks away, and I need to be physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually prepared. This trip will be challenging in all the walks of life. And I know there will be plenty of, “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus!” moments where it’s all I can say.  Learning to say no in obvious and unhealthy situations; is simple obedience. But with wisdom and grace, anything is possible.

Healing will come quick!

4 thoughts on “What saying “no” means

    1. Basically, in English, the doctor said the nerve is stuck in between the spine. It’s usually caused by injury. This is causing the pain in my leg and limits mobility. (I can still walk, but it’s painful). However, he gave some lower-back stretches to try to help loosen the nerve from being stuck. Hope that answers your question and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

