Final post as a Ms.

2015-05-09 17.51.59

The clock nearby, it’s ticking and never stops. One more day, one more week and one more hour until I look at my fiancee and can finally call him my husband and starting the next chapter of my life. Time flies but the last month has taught me valuable lessons about relationships and boundaries. I thought I would take some time to share a little bit.

There is much freedom when you take the time to analyze what the issues are before actually addressing them. Once you find yourself realizing what it is that needs worked on, there comes the breakthrough both with yourself and the people around you (sometimes).

I wasn’t taught boundaries growing up. I was taught to fight, and fight hard until I got my way. Either that, or bottle everything up. It bought more harm than good in my relationships. It was demanding and often times demeaning. Even though it was never my intention to hurt people, it still happened. Conviction was strongly felt this last couple of months as I grow closer to my fiancee. I began to realize the pain of all my experiences and worked through the lies I was believing. It took a lot of encouragement and will continue to do so as habits are often difficult to work through. Read 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 9 (ESV)

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. 

What does love look like? It is patient and kind. Meaning I would have to be willing to wait, don’t be quick to jump to conclusions or make assumptions. Love does not want it in their way. It’s not my way or the highway but willing to be flexible and making compromises. Love is not irritated or resentful, but willing to wait and not hold back anger and bitterness. Communication is the key. Love does not rejoice when once does wrong but instead shows truth with love. Love is willing to be understanding, supportive, hopeful and willing to go the extra mile in good and tough times. Love never fades or run out.

As I enter marriage less than week from today, this was a word I needed to hear. I needed breakthrough on what it means to be a great wife. Someone with imperfections of course but does her best to honor her husband. Relationships take work. God’s first commandment is to love others as we love ourselves. It’s a commitment but in the end, it will be worth it.

I ask in this time as I wrap up this blog as Ms. Brandow that you pray for me as an individual. For God to continue to transform my heart. To help me honor my husband and learn to love him in new ways every single day. I ask that you pray for us together, that will grow and learn to do life together. To serve one another and be willing to make sacrifices even when it’s hard. To be thankful always and always praying.

I’m so thankful for all the people who have been reading my blog for the last couple of years, or just recently. I pray you’ve found truth in these words written and the commitment I’ve made to you as my readers are inspired to understand what God speaks to others about. I will continue to write when I return in July with an update of what God is doing. But for now… I’m excited to be a Mrs. Josiah Smith and for an amazing and godly marriage.

With love,

Ms. Brandow

4 thoughts on “Final post as a Ms.

Leave a Reply

