The power of faith and healing

Recently, a couple with three girls at a church I’ve been attending experienced one of their daughters drowning. Harper is a delightful two year old, and when her dad found her in the pool, completely lifeless, he quickly took her out and began CPR and was rushed to the hospital. She had been in the pool for 13 minuets and without life for 18. My husband and I were on our way back to DC when I saw the post on Facebook and quickly we both prayed for Harper and that she would live.

Daily, I followed the posts on Facebook. Praying for good news and that she would be healed and restored. Every day was a challenge for this family. Hoping, praying, hanging on to that faith where fear was surrounding them. With doctors telling them that she would be brain dead, they decided against this fear. Because of this, Harper is now walking, running, talking, singing and being completely 100% herself.

I honestly cannot imagine what it’s like to experience this fear. The same fear Peter felt when he was stepping out of the boat when Jesus called him. But I can understand what it means to have my faith tested, time and time again.

tryclicle

When I was two years old, I was given a tricycle for my birthday. I was so excited to have my own bike. I couldn’t wait to ride it. But it was only a few weeks later, my sister jumped on the back of it and I flew off and hit my head on the pavement. I was rushed to the hospital to make sure I didn’t have a concussion. The doctor released me in good health. Not too long after that, my two year old gleeful self was jumping on the bed when I became limp and had a gran mal seizure. I was at my grandmother’s home while my mom was undergoing treatment for cancer. I was rushed to the hospital but not really knowing what was wrong.

I wasn’t officially diagnosed with Epilepsy until I was about six. I had a few seizures that left me blue and without life for several minuets. I can’t imagine what goes through my mom’s mind when she sees her child lifeless but I imagine she feels helpless.

My struggle didn’t stop there, even today I still have seizures, but not as many as before. I used to have 10-80 seizures a day on average. On a good day, I may have none and it’s always worth celebrating! On a bad day, I can have over a hundred. But it’s been awhile since I’ve had a day like that.

Two years ago, I went into the Epilepsy Monitor Unit at George Washington University Hospital for testing. It wasn’t my first time but they did a week worth of testing of my brain activity to see if I had any seizures. For the first time, the doctor said I am pretty much almost seizure free. I’ve been told I would NEVER outgrow them. I left the hospital with good news for the first time in my life.

But I still have seizures. They are controlled when I eat well, exercise, sleep well and keep my stress level to a minimum. I try not to be overly emotional and stay away from flashing lights as much as possible. I know I can control them, but I also know what it means to trust that God has healed me.

A few years ago, a friend of mine asked me, “Do you believe God can heal your seizures?” My response was this: “Well, yes and I look forward to going to heaven.”

It was then when he began to explain Matthew 6:9-13

Pray then like this:

“Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name.
Your kingdom come,
your will be done,
    on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our debts,
    as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
    but deliver us from evil.

Then he asked me if I believed the Kingdom existed on earth, if so, can God heal me here.

It stuck in the back of my mind for a long time. No one ever taught me about His Kingdom being on earth. Jesus bought the Kingdom with Him, therefore the question comes to mind, why not? Why couldn’t God not heal me.

As I began to study the Word, I began to realize the power of speaking life. This meant I really needed to step out in faith and believe in something that I couldn’t see but also hope for something. Speaking life meant uttering words and believing God’s Kingdom had the power to heal my body.

I live in a community house with Youth With A Mission DC. It brings challenges in my spiritual life but also victory more than failures. In the last year, we would have meetings and the leaders would ask, who wants to go and pick up so and so. I would always be the first to raise my hand. But everyone knew about my seizures. It’s a stigma I have to live with. But I chose to speak life by putting my faith into action.

Saying I can drive (in D.C., you must be seizure free for 12 months before you can be approved for a drivers license). I haven’t been completely seizure free this year because I’ve had a fever a few times and sometimes happen while I sleep which is often out of my control. While people in my community ridicule, tease or brush me off, I raise my hand because I believe my God CAN heal.

Harper’s miraculous story reminds me of just that. She defeated death in so many ways. I should be dead and more times than I can count. But my time isn’t over on earth, just as her’s isn’t. Her parents faith were greatly tested, but only bought victory.

Do I let my seizures defeat me? I may have good and bad days but I don’t let it defeat me anymore. Why? Because Philippians 4:13 says: I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

With the power of faith, comes healing. Because He can heal and not just replace my body in heaven but also experience heaven here on earth.

Do you believe we can experience His Kingdom on earth?

 follow #harpersmiracle on Facebook or Instagram to get more of this story

Leave a Reply

