How do you wrap up a year like 2015?

If people were to ask me to sum up 2015 in one word, it would be purposeful. It was busy but had so much purpose. Here’s a list of a few highlights below:

  1. The ASL DTS 2014-15 crew went to the Philippines. Meanwhile, Josiah and I were dating.
  2. He proposed on Feb. 2, 2015!
  3. I led an outreach to host a 12-hour prayer burn in Rochester, NY with Josiah co-leading.
  4. The YWAM DC ASL crew moved into the Lighthouse in April. (Matthew 6:14)
  5. Josiah and I got married June 27th! We took a road trip to Canada and back to Arizona before heading to DC.
  6. We decided to commit 14-months of volunteering for David’s Tent DC starting 9/11/15-10/8/16. Regardless of rain, snow and even the Pope couldn’t shut us down.
  7. We started events at the Lighthouse with Gallaudet students as well as people from all over the DC, VA and MD area.
  8. We found out we’re going to be parents in September. In December, we found out it’s a baby girl.
    christmasannoucement

I’ve been going over in my head lately about how crazy this year has been. To date, be engaged, married and pregnant in the same year! Most people would have said we were going too fast, but everything felt right. It was a year of fun, love, bonding and growing. I say growing literally with life!

In terms of ministry, it was a year of a lot of awesome changes and challenges. I got to led my first outreach team on a short mission trip to NY which was a great experience. I felt tested in my own leadership capacity as well as seeing others take the lead. Since then, I’ve seen so much more growth in our team.
Being a part of the Lighthouse event has been fun. I’ve met a lot of people over the last few months. People I’ve had the opportunity to know, pray, learn and to laugh a lot.
David’s Tent DC has been a blast, of course, nothing has been without challenges. We had to relocated temporarily when the Pope came to town but it didn’t stop us from worshipping God 24/7. Our team takes the morning watch and we have met tons of people and have witnessed God do amazing things in people’s lives. We both have experienced a little bit of a breakthrough in leading in worship one way or another. Sometimes, just seeing people’s lives be changed by how we worship; speaking in our heart language – American Sign Language.

I have so much to be thankful for and much to look forward to. Just like Jesus who is the past, present and the future. This is what God has been speaking to me. To be still and know that He is God. He’s the one who knows my life. I know that the year 2016 will be crazy, fun and challenging too. I wouldn’t expect less. One thing I don’t think 2016 will be: a year of resolutions to accomplish. Instead, it will be a year of thanksgiving and learning to appreciating the ride. I’d rather enjoy my successes and my failures and learn from them, than to fail and not learn anything.  The year 2016 is not far away from now and I cannot wait to see what God has in store.

May your 2016 be super blessed!

Leave a Reply

